Serendipity (not the John Cusack movie)

Growing up outside of New York City, going to Serendipity III for frozen hot chocolate was kind of seen as a touristy thing to do.  Serendipity (as it is shortened to) is known for being overpriced and kitschy.  That, and being closed down for rat infestations. But kitsch was something I really needed after this past week, so I decided to indulge at the new one that opened in Georgetown. There’s a certain point where one is just thrown all sorts of elements, that one loses one’s aversion to all things cute and overly peppy, and is instead revived by them.  That is where I was at that point so I succumbed to the pink decor and oh-so-sweet treats.

I, of course, ordered a frozen hot chocolate.  I ordered the one made for one person, but I’m pretty sure I got the amount made for two.  I tried to add toppings but our Italian waiter told me to do otherwise as it would distract from the true taste of the dish.  How very Italian of him.  So I heeded his advice.

That was so big that I only drank about half and moved on to the crab and artichoke dip we ordered.  I’m pretty sure it was made with cream cheese because it was very thick and sweet.  This is, as you may come to find out, a theme in Serendipity’s food.

Next was the chicken pot pie which I barely touched it because I was so full so I’ll let you guys know how it was when I eat it as a leftover.

When there, we debated a few things about the decor:

1)Are the lamps real Tiffany’s?

What do you guys think?

2) Somewhere there was a quote written that serendipity is the marriage of luck and sagacity, or something like that.  This is a two-parter:

  • Is sagacity pronounced with a soft “g” or a hard “g?”
  • How much does being sage really have to do with something being serendipitous, or is it all some sort of teleological happenstance?

Any thoughts?

8 thoughts on “Serendipity (not the John Cusack movie)

  1. Sandi says:

    This sounds amazing. I have been wanting to go try it out there since it opened up in DC!

  2. EBerry says:

    Love the frozen hot chocolate! Have you ever tried the kind that you can make at home?

  3. agaylinn89 says:

    The Red Velvet Cake is legit INSANE! I highly recommend it if you are with 500 people, well more realistically, 5…

  4. I actually hate this place. The food is just okay, but after waiting over an hour to get a glass of water I know I will never go there again.

  5. Alex says:

    I used to go to Serendipity all the time with friends and family. It was one of the ones in NYC, I think the one by the airtram to Roosevelt Island. It was always fun and delicious but the space was SO cramped and the waiters were actually kind of rude haha. I think it comes with being famous. I would always get a sundae just smothered in hot fudge. Definitely have to go back sometime!

  6. I love serendipity in NYC and every time I run past the one in Georgetown it’s mobbed too… I can’t wait for WINTER frozen hot chocolate. OK that’s odd, but amazing.

  7. I had the frozen hot chocolate at taste of georgetown this weekend…incredible! The tasting and your post has convinced me to try serendipity!

  8. Josh Fox says:

    Serendipity was always one of my favorite places to go when I was younger. Every time I was in NYC me and my brothers would force our parents to take use there.

Leave a Reply

