Hello, pumpkin

I still had leftover pumpkin puree in my fridge from when I bought that whole pumpkin!  So I decided to make some of my friends’ favorite–pumpkin pie and bring it up to their room for when we watched American Horror Story.

This was a caramel pumpkin pie, in which you brown some sugar in a saucepan to make your own caramel which is a fun process.  As per usual, I made my own pie crust, a recipe for which is in the pie recipe link.  Simply put, I do not use store-bought!

I will say that I was way too lazy to go the 3 blocks to Whole Foods to get heavy cream, so I just went to Fo Bo Gro across the street and used whipped cream as a substitution instead (whoops) …and to garnish with!  It seemed to have worked just as well as regular liquid cream.

Take a look at the results:

My friends really enjoyed the pumpkin pie, and my roommate said it was the best she’s ever had.  Well, gee, thanks!

2 thoughts on “Hello, pumpkin

  1. Alec says:

    Looks yummy! I have never had pumpkin and caramel but it seems like a great idea.

  2. yummy. I make a killer pumpkin caramel cheesecake. They go well together.

Leave a Reply

